Life is not a “to do” list

Happy March my darlings. Can you believe it’s already March!

Last week I posted about slowing down and enjoying life. This thought has resonated deeply with me, maybe it’s due to the fact that I am currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. From the instant I picked up the book I have been inspired. If you haven’t read the book, read it! “Gretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus.”The days are long, but the years are short,” she realized. “Time is passing, and I’m not focusing enough on the things that really matter.” In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project.”

I have decided to have a monthly mantra; a goal or a group of goals that I wish to work on for the month. Inspired by the idea of slowing down and enjoying the moment, the mantra’s for March are: life is not a “to do” list, stop & smell the roses and enjoy the simple things. 

Life is not a “to do” list: I love love love lists. Not only do they keep me organized, but they keep me sane as well. I have lists for everything. As soon as I am feeling a little overwhelmed or stressed I make a list. It’s just my thing, something I do. I jam pack my weekends with “to do’s” instead of just enjoying the time off and going with the flow. Crossing items off my list brings me joy, but I am so eager to cross items off my list that I am beginning to question my obsession with list making. When is enough, enough? It’s time to slow down and enjoy the moment.

Stop & smell the roses: this goal/mantra goes right along with list making. I am so eager to get to the next moment. I vow to stop and smell the roses literally this month, if there is a rose I will smell it!

Enjoy the simple things: the simple things bring me the most happiness; a walk on the beach, an amazing yoga class, good conversation, reading and drinking coffee in bed on a Saturday morning.

 

Shout out the source: Pinterest

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

