The Journey of Life & Books

There is a Buddhist proverb which resonates deeply with me: “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.” Teachers can be in any form – humans, songs, blogs, film, books, poems, photography, etc. My teachers are often in the form of book. I love that special moment when I read the first couple of pages and know my life will forever be changed.

“When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”

Books that have impacted my life and led me on my spiritual journey (in no particular order)…

1. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

2. The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho

3. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

4. The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

5. The Mastery of Love by Don Miguel Ruiz

6. Way of the Peaceful Warrior by Dan Millman

7. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

8. The Art of Happiness by Dalia Lama & Howard C. Cutler

9. The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin

10. Feeding Your Demons by Tsultrium Allione

 

Currently reading:

– The Complete Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron

– Quantum Wellness by Kathy Freston

 

Books in the “to read” stack:

– The Bhagavad Gita

– Siddhartha by Herman Hesse

– The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

– 5 Steps to a Quantum Life by Natalie Reid

What books have led you on your journey? Or have changed your life? Please do share.

Shout out to the images sources: Tiny White Daisies, A Conversation on Cool, Wish Flowers

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Journey of Life & Books

  1. essentjewels says:

    Your choice of books sounds interesting, I am curious now.

  2. orangerette says:

    I share most of this list ! About only a few days ago i stumbled upon a new book that, i immediately knew, was to be added to my list… (Sometimes i also like to think these books actually come to me..) Anyway, this new one is called Sweat Your Prayers, by Gabrielle Roth.

Leave a Reply

